When does a WIP Become a UFO?

I have several quilts that I am working on but for the time being all but two have been put in a box and put in the closet. Well that got me to wondering, would they be classified as WIP’s or UFO’s. To me, I guess, once you quit working on the flimsy and put it away it becomes a UFO. But, I have also considered a UFO something that has been put up and there are not plans to work on it in the near future. I have plans to pull all of these quilts out and work on them.

I was working working on all of the quilts advancing all of them slowly. I then decided to put some of them away and concentrate on only two. One as my main project, The Sister’s Choice quilt, and one as my leader/ender project, the Tumbling blocks. I managed to get the Sister’s Choice to the flimsy stage and I am going to move on to the Batik Wave quilt. I don’t know that working this way is any faster than working some on all of them, but at least this way I have one ready to be quilted.

So what do you think, are my WIP’s officially UFO’s? Thanks for playing along with me as I contemplate the lighter things of life.

Happy Quilting!

Terry

3 thoughts on “When does a WIP Become a UFO?

  1. It seems that the definitions of UFO and WIP depends on the quilter. I decided a number of years ago that WIP were projects that had been started less than a year ago and anything started over a year ago was a UFO. The definitions work for me. I find that I’m more motivated to keep working on a project to keep it off the UFO list. That’s had the upside of not making the UFO list any longer, but the downside of not focusing on getting it shorter.

    Like

I would love to hear from you!

