For Better or Worse

For better or worse, Island Chains is a flimsy. It is not quite ready to load on the quilting machine because I have to clean up the back of this quilt or I will have threads showing through in the light areas. These fabrics raveled more than most fabrics that I use and there is such a big difference between the light and dark, that I do not want to take the chance of having threads showing through.

Island Chain Finally a Flimsy!

Island Chain Finally a Flimsy!

If I had extra background fabric left over I would have done a couple of things differently. I would have made the amount of background even on both sides of the strip of color in the border. Since the design was decided on after the first border was already sewn on, that did not happen. I am happy to have this one to the flimsy stage and I am ready to get it finished. However, I do not know what I am going to use for backing. I do not have enough of one fabric to make the backing and I am waffling between piecing a backing with pieces left over from the quilt or going to buy some fabric. I guess I will go look at Hancock’s (the only fabric store in our area) and see if there is anything that suits my fancy. (update, Hancock’s did not have anything that suited my fancy, but happily, I found something in the closet that will work.

That is how I am spending my Saturday. I hope you are having some fun with your too. Later, I am going to look at a quilting machine with Missy. I will let you know how it goes.

Happy quilting!

Terry

One thought on “For Better or Worse

I would love to hear from you!

