A Bittersweet Week

As you may know, I work at a college. Part of my work at the college is working closely with many student workers. Well the time of year is here that I do not like, graduation and students leaving to go home for the summer. Some of them I will never see again and it makes me tremendously sad. I am happy they are graduating and moving on with their life but I feel like an empty nester every May. This year was particularly hard because not only do we have some leaving due to graduation, one is taking a leave of absence, two are changing colleges and moving and another decided she was not  a good fit for our demanding student work.

Most students left on Wednesday and I thought I had handled it all fairly well (there I go thinking again). Yesterday a student came up and gave me a hug and gave me a thank you card. He said he probably would not see me again before he moved, but if I were ever in Nashville I was welcome there. The card just about did me in after his comment, I told the students it is like one of my kids is growing up and leaving home never to return again.

So while I am happy to see the student finish their course, graduate and move on to the rest of their life, it is a very bittersweet time. I am going to miss my kids!

So my BrianyQuote today comes from Dr. Seuss

Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.

Backyard visitor

Backyard visitor

Happy quilting!
Terry
One thought on “A Bittersweet Week

  1. One of the volleyball mom’s owns a favorite restaurant in town. She hires a lot of the high school and college kids. She was talking about how hard it was to see those kids leave this time of year. I think your quote is the best advice, but so hard to put into practice.

    Like

I would love to hear from you!

