Time Out Backing Repair Started

After I finished the Mock Trip to a flimsy and while I decide whether I want borders, I decided to get the Time Out quilt out of time out and get the backing repair started. Just looking at what I did makes me what to kick myself in the back end because I just needed to lay it out to see I had it turned wrong.

I cleaned up my mess from the Mock Trip (so I had room to work) and spread the quilt out so I could see how large of a piece I needed. Okay, I needed 5.5 inches to finish the quilt. Now to see how much fabric I have on each side. 8.5 inches on one side and 10.5 inches on the other. By the time I join the two pieces with a larger than normal seam allowance because I do not want it to pull apart, and leave enough on the side to be comfortable loading the quilt to finish quilting, I do not like the small amount left for loading the quilt back on the frame. Time to start digging, do I have a piece left so I can scavenge a piece. Why yes, yes I do. Big sigh of relief. I think I could have made it work by cutting a piece off of the sides, but now I do not have to worry about doing that. Cut a 12.5 inch piece, overkill I am sure, and it is time to sew this puppy together, finish the quilt on the machine and get this one loaded and finished.

Happy quilting!

Terry

One thought on “Time Out Backing Repair Started

I would love to hear from you!

