Are You an Adventurous Quilter

I am not an adventurous quilter. I am always afraid that I will mess things up so I stick with stuff I know how to do. Every great once in a while I will branch out and try something new when I am quilting. Most of the time I use a pantograph because they are safe and I know I can follow them. When I first started quilting, I was adventurous but somewhere along the line, I started being a safe quilter. My feathers were not perfect, my swirls could be improved. I worried what if someone does not like the quilting, even though I was quilting for myself. I guess the greatest hurdle is I spent all of this time creating the top, I do not want to mess it up now. I am going to work hard to break out of that box next year. So are you an adventurous quilter or are you more like me?

I have also discovered I am not to adventurous when it come to piecing. I can look at most patterns and break it down because I have been quilting so long. I can do triangles, squares, curves and flight 54-40 blocks. There are two things that I had never tried, paper piecing and applique. About this time last year, I decided it was time to master those two things. Well, I never realized how reluctant I had become to trying something new. I purchased the Moonglow pattern, and received an applique pattern for Christmas. I delayed starting on either pattern for a very long time. I finally convinced myself (with a lot of nudging from Missy) to start the Moonglow. I had to make a test block to make sure that I got it right because I had never done any paper piecing. Then I made the block with the fabric I received in the kit. That was at the end of October. I think that might be why I am in a slump, I am not giving myself the freedom to make what I want to and I am trying to force myself to make the Moonglow quilt. I know I will love it when it is completed and I also know that I am making a mountain out of a mole hill, but that is where I am at today. I think tomorrow I will make myself cut out the pattern, (that is a BIG stumbling block) and then I will be whipping out the blocks in no time (I hope) 🙂

Here are my blocks, made since October, back on my Design Wall. Please forgive my bad photography skills, all of the points are really there, but neither is perfect. Check out Judy’s blog for design walls that are super!

block 1 sampleblock 1 compressed

Until next time. Keep quilting!

Terry

One thought on “Are You an Adventurous Quilter

  1. As soon as I spied your Moonglow block, I knew I had to click over. I have five blocks completed and I’ve had the Moonglow kit since 2003!! The fifth block was completed in 2011. These are hard blocks and I’ve been afraid of ruining the fabric beyond repair trying to get them together in a sort of okay way. It never occurred to me to make a test block (smacking forehead). You’ve given the me the spark to pull out block six and do one. Thank you!

    Like

I would love to hear from you!

